Prior to this release, when the 3.9 Views and Reports Sharing Limitations system setting that controls who can make private reports, folders, dashboards, and views public was enabled, items created by users without administrative privileges could not be shared publicly with the rest of the organization. In addition, if a user left the company, their private items could not be shared or deleted.
To ensure that when setting is enabled, private items can be publicly shared or removed from the system, when the setting is enabled, System administrators are automatically granted the edit permissions for private reports, folders, dashboards, and views created by users. To ensure that System administrators can always share and delete private items, these permission cannot be revoked from System administrators by users.
The change only applies to new items created after this update is installed and does not affect previously created items. In other words, administrators are not granted privileges on items that existed prior to the update.