The introduction of date effective capacity means that the system automatically takes account of resource capacity changes when users are added to and removed from the system.
User capacity is now calculated only for users with a State of Active or Pending. For all other States, user capacity will be zero. This new calculation method applies to Capacity Planning, Reporting, Resource Load, and Resource Planning.
Note: This change is not retroactive and will not take account of state changes that occurred prior to the feature being enabled. It will only impact data for active users from the point when the feature is released for general availability. Historic user capacity for inactive users will change to match their capacity on the day this feature is introduced (i.e. it will show zero hours).
How it Works
- If a user is Deleted or Suspended, their capacity during previous Active periods is preserved.
- For existing Active users, the historical capacity remains unchanged. However, as soon as such a user gets deleted or suspended, their capacity will become zero from that point onwards (or until such time when they are re-enabled or restored).
In the following example, a user is deleted in mid-May 2020. As a result, their capacity is shown as zero starting from the deletion date.
In Capacity Planning
- For newly created users, the capacity will be shown as zero until the date they become active.
In the following example, a new user was created in mid-May 2020. As a result, their capacity is shown as zero before the creation date.
In Capacity Planning
In Resource Planning
In Resource Load (Zero availability)
- If there are multiple Active state periods for a given user, their capacity will adjust accordingly for these periods: that is, going down to zero during inactive periods, and going back to the regular capacity (driven by the user’s calendar) during periods when the user is active.
Enabling the Feature
The new mechanism for capacity calculation will become effective for all organizations from our January 2022 release onwards. User deletions or suspensions from that point will have their capacity reduced to zero on their date of deletion or suspension.
Any deleted or suspended users that are in an inactive state at the point this feature is introduced will have their capacity reduced to zero and will be shown as never having had any capacity.
Resource Planning before feature enablement (note: capacity hours for suspended user)
Resource Planning after feature enablement in November (note: zero hours for suspended user)
Initially, Reports will not automatically reflect the same capacity for those users that were in a deleted or suspended state at the time the feature is enabled (unless they are subsequently re-enabled or restored, or a system wide calendar change is made).
System administrators will initially be able to automatically synchronize the capacity of all these users in Reports by turning on the Take account of Capacity for Inactive Users setting in the Clarizen Labs section. These users will then show as never having had any capacity.
This system setting triggers a "one off" activity and will not be needed again, and once enabled, the system setting cannot be turned off.
As part of the April 2022 release, the system setting will be removed and any remaining deleted or suspended users that were in an inactive state prior to January 2022 (who have not been re-enabled or restored) will have their capacity reduced to zero and will be shown as never having had any capacity.