User Capacity for Inactive Users is Zero

Note: This feature is in controlled availability, and will be released for general availability soon. To gain early access, contact your Customer Success Manager.

What's New

User capacity is now calculated only for users with a State of Active. For all other States, user capacity will be zero. This new calculation method currently applies to Capacity Planning, reporting, Resource Load, and Resource Planning.

Notes:

  • If a user is Deleted or Suspended, their capacity during previous Active periods is preserved.
  • For existing Active users, the historical capacity remains unchanged. However, as soon as such a user gets deleted or suspended, their capacity will become zero.
    In the following example, a user is deleted in mid-May 2020. As a result, their capacity is shown as zero starting from the deletion date.

    In reports
    mceclip5.png

    In Capacity Planning

    mceclip6.png

  • For newly created users, the capacity will be shown as zero until the date they become active.
    In the following example, a new user was created in mid-May 2020. As a result, their capacity is shown as zero before the creation date.
    In reports
    mceclip7.png
    In Capacity Planning
    mceclip8.png
    In Resource Planning
    mceclip0.png

    In Resource Load (Zero availability)
    mceclip1.png

  • In general, if there are multiple Active state periods for a given user, their capacity will now be coupled with these periods: that is, going down to zero during inactive periods, and going back to the regular capacity (driven by the user’s calendar) during periods when the user is active.
    mceclip9.png
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Coates, Kimberly

    This is great news but I have some concerns for companies that are leveraging the AD Sync Tool for user account creation. Today the AD Sync Tool does not allow us to create a user account in a "Pending" State. 2nd step in the user account set-up: the platform does not allow us to configure a workflow rule based on the users initial login in order to mark the user as "Active" when they first log in.