Post

2 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Move button in work plan

When I'm in a request, and there's a work plan showing related tasks, I don't see the move option under utilities. 

Is this something I can change with a configuration? It does show if I go to the workplan in a project or in the actual task itself. 

Brunswick Lowe Answered

Please sign in to leave a comment.

3 comments

0
Avatar

The Move button is only for work tems and is typically used to move a work item to another part of a project or even to a completely different project. It is not really relevant for requests since there is no concept of hierarchy in the request module. Also, requests can be linked to multiple objects so "Move" is not really accurate (you are not really moving a request from one project or another, but are linking or unlinking that request to one or more work items).

Josh Santos 0 votes
0
Avatar

That part I get, but the issue I'm having is with the work plan as it is showing in the request item detail default view. My request view shows the related tasks in a work plan. 

 

By process, using a custom action in the request, I generate a related task. That task, through the CA, is added to a project I have called, "unscheduled work."

When that task gets assigned to a project, I go to the request, see it in the work plan and move it out of "unscheduled work" to the actual project as part of that other project's scope. 

Currently, to move it, I have to open the task itself and go to the work plan in the task detail view. The move button shows in that work plan, but it does not show in the work plan in the request. Is that a configuration that I can change? Seems like that would be something I could tweak in my profile. I would expect it to show under utilities. Other parts of Clarizen show it under "Other Actions." See below...

Brunswick Lowe 0 votes
0
Avatar

Ah I see. Only the Work Plan (full work breakdown structure) will have the Move Option. However, you can create a custom action accessible from that panel in Requests that will do the same thing as Move. An even simpler option would be to click the name of the work item and then click "Change..." immediately below the name:

 

Josh Santos 0 votes