Post

1 follower Follow
0
Avatar

posting time tracking hours to existing jobs.

We have been collecting our hours through time tracking but have discovered it is not posting to jobs as effort worked. How do we apply these hours to existing and past jobs? We also have attempted to toggle the enable time time tracking from the system setting but have not bee successful in doing so. can you provide more instructions?

 

 

jim mcdowell Answered

Please sign in to leave a comment.

7 comments

0
Avatar

Hi Jim,

 

  To clarify, you have reported time to a task, however, the actual effort has not updated, corrected?  If this is the case, you may want to consider enabled the Actual Effort Updated from Timesheets option for your projects.  You can also set the default for new projects in the System Settings: 10.1.

 

7-25-2013_1-15-06_PM.png

Alexander Gorman 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

still cannot enable default and I have no clue where you are at n the system to enable what your picture is showing me.

In system setting 10.1 I cannot toggle the default value from off to ON

jim mcdowell 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

The default value indicates the setting that Clarizen came with, out of the box.  Go ahead and check this checkbox and save, the setting will then be enabled.  

 

The Properties panel can be opened by right clicking on a Project, choosing "Properties," and navigating to the "Settings" tab on the new pop-up window.

Alexander Gorman 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Got it, very helpful.  Is there a wayto do this more globaly and how do I set this up as a default?

jim mcdowell 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

I  get a Warning - Settings Update: changing this setting will delete all existing effort information on this work item and all sub-items.

Are you certain this is what you are asking me to do? I think I will lose my existing information.

Changing this setting will delete all existing effort information on this work item and all sub-items

jim mcdowell 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Jim, this setting automatically moves all approved time on a work item to the work item's actual effort field.  You will no longer be able to arbitrarily add a value to the actual effort field.  If you have already manually entered a value for the actual effort on a task, it will be overridden based on the timesheet (approved) values reported against it.

 

We have an open Q&A webinar tomorrow morning at 9AM PST which can cover this setting live.  Sign up here:   https://events-na7.adobeconnect.com/content/connect/c1/1127858907/en/events/event/shared/default_template/event_registration.html?sco-id=1267334122&_charset_=utf-8

Alexander Gorman 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink