Post

4 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Disable Baseline Override

"Is functionality planned to allow us to disable the ability of PM's to override the existing baseline?"

You're probably looking at v6 or later for that level of permission control, but what you can do is take a snapshot of that project (duplicate it and mark the duplicate as cancelled) and assign yourself as the PM of the duplicate. That should give you an uneditable baseline of the project.

 

Clarizen Team Answered

Please sign in to leave a comment.

8 comments

0
Avatar

Josh,

 

I was searching for snapshot function when I come across this thread. If I duplicate a running project and then cancel it, would it keep all relative data including data in the custom fields? I also don't see a "Cancelled Projects" in the list of selections from the project list view, it is only available in the Work Item view, is there a reason why? thanks in advance.

Bo Gao 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

To answer your first question, yes it will keep all relative data including custom fields.  The cancelled projects option appears in Work Items and the Global Search, but not the homepage. The projects exist, but since they are rarely accessed we did not put filters for cancelled everywhere.  Note that in v6, the filters from cancelled are also available from the homepage if you make "Projects" your homepage.

Josh Santos 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Josh,

 

I put in a custom action to take the snapshot; I was trying to use New Object, with the template being the CurrentObject(); the system gave me an error saying not compatible. Any suggestion here? Thanks,

 

Bo

Bo Gao 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

You need a copy command, which is not available yet (but will be soon).  The fastest way to do this is with a quick Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V in the project plan (assuming it is set up like a portfolio).

Josh Santos 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Josh, any idea when the copy command will be available? for V5.4?

Bo Gao 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

The command will only be available on V6, and I believe it comes out September 8th.  So you should already have this by the time you upgrade.

Josh Santos 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Hello!

Any update on the ability to control that saving of a baseline. I would like to restrict this ability to a PMO head or some other person (other than the PM).

chad williams 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

You should be able to prevent the saving of a baseline by creating a validation rule on the project that will not allow the baseline fields to change if the user is not an administrator (or other restriction).

Josh Santos 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink