Post

4 followers Follow
0
Avatar

How do I permanently delete a user?

I would like to clean out my list of deleted users. It has been cluttered by some mistakes in the import process from Microsoft Project. How do I empty the trash on the user list?

Justin Lomax Answered

Please sign in to leave a comment.

5 comments

0
Avatar

There is no way to delete these users since they are part of the audit trail in the system.  All you need to do is put in a filter that excludes deleted users and you will never see these again.

Josh Santos 0 votes
0
Avatar

I have the same issue.  This answer seems incomplete. I see no filter options under People.  These users were imported but the project was deleted (as a test), yet the users remain.  How do I permanently remove users that never had any time tracking entries, and no longer have any tasks assigned as they were cleared and deleted?  This could amount to 100's (or more) people that need to be removed.  No purge or archive option?

Gregg Wooden 0 votes
0
Avatar

Gregg, 

Unfortunately we do not have a purge for such situations. Possible a good Change Request. 

The mentioned filter is in the main view when looking at People Module (top right) near the Search field. The drop down allows you to specify only Active users or NOT ONE OF Deleted. 

Also, to make this view permanent, you can go into the View Edit and specify this filter change in the default view you are using so that it appears this way all the time. 

 

Sincerely, 

Boris

Boris Krutiy 0 votes
0
Avatar

Not being able to completely remove users is problematic. I have had some mistakes in the creation of people and some system issues with their access. This feature of user hamstrings admins.

Thanks

Sean

Sean Druelinger 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hi Sean, have you made these users "inactive."  That will make them very easy to filter out and if they are still assigned to projects their names will appear with a strikethrough (giving you a nice visual that they need to be replaced in the plan).

Josh Santos 0 votes