Post

2 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Un-Assigning Resources

How do you un-assign resources and if needed reassign them later?

Sometimes we need to remove a resource that has applied hours towards a task, but the task is not yet complete.  I unassigned the resource on the Resource Load Page which removes the task from the timesheet.  I just learned of this feature.  Is there a way to reassign the task back to the resource where it shows up on there time sheet?  I tried going to the resource page and assigning the task back to the resource but, it did not work.  Thanks

 

 

Mitzie Cribbs Answered

Please sign in to leave a comment.

3 comments

0
Avatar

Hi Mitzie, I have also used the resource load feature to move tasks/projects around. In my experience, this doesn't remove time already booked in timesheets. Also, if you move a task/project back to the resource, so long as the task/project is active, it will appear on their timesheet

Antony Willers 0 votes
0
Avatar

Thanks, but can you elaborate on moving a task back to the resource?  I went to the resource load page and reassigned a source that I had removed by selecting the assign button.  It is not showing back up on the timesheet.   Are you moving a task on this page or are you doing it from a different location?  and are you selecting assign or are there other steps that need to be taken.   Thanks

Mitzie Cribbs 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hi Mitzie, I have just double checked. In the Resource Load window, I use Assign on the project or task I want to move to someone else. You must Assign first. This moves the task or project to the new named resource. It then appears in their timesheet and is removed from original resource timesheet. I can then repeat the same process in reverse, i.e. reassigning back to original resource. I get the same result. When I select Assign, the User window pops up, I just select the resource in the left window and move to the right window, press save and job done. Hope this helps

Antony Willers 0 votes