User Types

A system administrator will typically assign a User Type to a user, which applies system-wide predefined roles and permissions. 

Note: To learn more about the relationships between user types, roles and permissions, see Introduction to User Types, Roles, and Permissions.

The User Types are: 

User Type

Description

Access

Administrator (Admin)

An organization Administrator is authorized and able to access and adjust all system settings.

All system settings, including:

●       Global & System Settings

●       Profiles

●       Workflow, InterAct, Extensions, install Apps

●       User Settings, assign licenses

●       Currencies and set rates

Super User

A Super User is authorized and able to view and edit all aspects of work items (with the exception of financial fields) in the organization regardless of their project roles. Typically, top-level executives and project management officers (PMOs) are assigned this permission.

●       View projects in which they have 'No Role' as well as all projects in the organization

●        Approve timesheets of any projects in their organization

●       Approve expenses of any projects in their organization 

●      Run any custom action

Financial User

Users with financial permissions can view and modify financial data across the organization, including user and job title hourly rates (cost and billing rates), budgeted and actual cost of work items, financial reports and expense reports.

●       Approve timesheets of any projects in their organization

●       Approve work items, financial reports and expenses of any projects in their organization

●       Job title hourly rates (cost and billing rates)

●       Budgeted and actual cost of work items (financial fields)

●       Financial reports and expense reports

External User

External Users are licensed Clarizen users who may or may not be part of your company. if an External User is assigned to only one specific task within a project, they do not have the ability to view the parent work items of that task.

They are typically Vendors or Contractors.

●       Restricted visibility of work items

●       Can view projects or parts of projects to which they are directly assigned

●       Can view any sub-task of assigned work items (such as milestones and tasks, or sub-tasks of a parent task).

●       Cannot be included in Social posts

Time & Expense User

Can report time/expense against their activities.

Even though they can report time against project work items, they cannot collaborate on these tasks (notes, discussions, files), which is what sets them apart from Team Member users.

●       Timesheets and modules

●       Can report progress via email

●       Access Social discussions

●       Submit forms to trigger actions such as submitting a ticket, PTO, project, change request and more.

Requestor/Social User

They can work on cases and to-do tasks

Customers that need a joint, secure, workspace where they can share ideas, submit requests, and work jointly with other team members, rather than rely on emails and attachments residing in individual email inboxes or computers typically use this user type.

This license may also be used by members of other departments who are not project/task-centric but occasionally need to collaborate with licensed Clarizen users and provide input into the shared knowledge base.

●       Full access to the Social module

●       Cases and To Do List items in the Tasks module

●       API Management

●       Submit forms to trigger workflows, such as submitting a helpdesk ticket, PTO, project, change request, etc.

Internal

Internal users at the parent project level (task, milestone, etc.) have access to the entire project. When a resource is assigned permissions within a sub-task, the user is limited to the information contained within the sub-project, without access to the Parent project.

 

External

When assigned as an external user on the parent project level, the user cannot view any part of the project.
When assigned to a milestone, the user can access the project, milestone or task directly associated to the assigned milestone. However, the user will not have access to any view beyond those specified.
When assigned to a task, the user is limited to task and sub-tasks within the task and no additional views are available.
When assigned on a sub-project level, the user's view is limited to the specific sub-project and related milestones and tasks of the sub-project with no additional views.

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments